Isaiah 43:18 "Forget the former things; do not dwell on the past. See, I am doing a new 
thing! Now it springs up. Do you not perceive it? I am making a way in the desert and 
streams in the wasteland."

November is familiar to many writers as national novel writing month, or a poem-a-day month,or NaBloPoMo, blog posting month. I was trying to decide whether to attempt this again and 
was sensing the familiar angst about my writing inconsistency and previous lack of follow 
through. And then I read Isaiah 43:18, "Forget what happened before. Don't dwell on the 
past." (My paraphrase) That helped me make the decision. So I am committing to a new thing. And I look forward to looking forward. 

November isn't typically the month for new beginnings, not like January and New Years Day, 
or April and the start of spring, or September with its new school year. But we are 
beginning a new season, a time for more thankfulness, more giving, and hopefully, more 
contemplation and reflection, a looking inward as we spend more time indoors.

It's hard to narrow this month of writing to a specific focus, though, so my blog entries 
might sometimes be poems, following the prompts of the poem-a-day challenge on the Writers 
Digest Poetic Asides site, or maybe a commentary on the Word a Day entry, or maybe the 
lyrics to or background of a favorite hymn, or even about some new craft or food I make. 

I'd like to be super organized and do something clever, so that every weekday has a specific
topic, but seriously? That extra pressure might take all the fun and spontaneity out of 
writing. The experts say that your blog should have a consistent focus and that you should 
build a platform so readers know what to expect. But irreverent as it sounds, what comes to mind is "don't should on yourself."

My platform right now? Simply to write something new every day. I won't be writing a novel 
this month, or even a poem every day, but I am committing to a blog post at least 5 days a 
week for November. 

The One who is speaking in Isaiah 43:18 is God; He is the one who is doing a new thing. My 
goal is to have eyes to perceive it, to follow the way that He opens up in the desert and todrink from the fresh streams He provides. 

I love these lines from the song, 10,000 Reasons, "The sun comes up; it's a new day dawning. 
It's time to sing your song again."  

Every day is a new day. A new opportunity to sing His song again. 

One thought on “Forget the Past. Do Something New!

  1. Focus-schmocus, dear friend: I applaud your efforts to put pen to paper, period. I know that some people tell us that our blogs need to have a specific focus. We interpret this as a specific topic. Why can’t the thing that focuses your blog be the way you uniquely see the world and how you describe it to the rest of us? That’s my approach, anyway. Write on!

Leave a Reply

