I read 2 Timothy 1 again today, continuing beyond my theme verse for this blog, and when I reached verse 12, the music started up. “But I know Whom I have believed and am persuaded that He is able to keep that which I’ve committed unto Him against that day.” If you know this old hymn, these words in the chorus, which begins with an octave leap in the melody, will probably resonate with you, too. The words may be archaic, but the truth is eternal.

Verse 1 : “I know not why God’s wondrous grace to me He hath made known; nor why, unworthy, Christ in love redeemed me for His own.”  Sometimes I wonder why I was born in this country, with this skin color, to my particular parents, during this time period. Does anyone get to choose their birth date, ethnic heritage, location, parents? Of course not. We’re all born unworthy, having done nothing to deserve God’s grace and Christ’s redeeming love. Why did God choose me? (I don’t know, but I know Whom I have believed!)

Verse 2: “I know not how this saving faith to me He did impart; nor how believing in His Word wro’t peace within my heart.” God reveals Himself and we respond. I responded to His invitation as an adolescent and the first sensation I remember was a feeling of absolute, undeniable peace. His Word “wro’t,” or fashioned and formed, that peace inside me. How does that happen? (I don’t know, but I know Whom I have believed!)

Verse 3: “I know not how the Spirit moves, convincing men of sin, revealing Jesus through the Word, creating faith in Him.” There are several people I’m praying for, asking the Spirit to move, to convince, to reveal, to create faith. I don’t know how He will accomplish this, but when I sing the chorus of this song again, I am persuaded that He will. “He is able…”

Paul said, “Yet I am not ashamed, because I know whom I have believed, and am convinced that He is able to guard what I have entrusted to Him for that day.” (2 Timothy 1:12)

There is a lot that I don’t know….but I know HIM.

Leave a Reply

