Today my writing inspiration came from a text message I received from my daughter Aimie, who lives in LA. She gave me permission to use her words.

A verse popped into my head last night as I was falling asleep that is exactly what I need to remind myself. I googled it; it’s James 2:14-26. Faith without works is dead. As I struggle with finding a balance and being strong in my goals, it’s good to be reminded that until I do the work or move forward to take the steps, knowing God will help does little for the actual action. I need both my work plus faith in God’s power to achieve. I always “hope” things will happen or come together, but I avoid doing that work or letting go of my wants and selfish desires.” 

The Message says in James 2:14, “Dear friends, do you think you’ll get anywhere in this if you learn all the right words but never do anything? Does merely talking about faith indicate that a person really has it?”  The metaphor in verse 18 says that faith and works fit together “hand in glove.”  I can look out my window and have faith that the weeds will go away, but until I put my hand in that gardening glove, go outside, get down on my knees and start pulling, those weeds will keep growing.

A speaker at a writers’ conference recently gave me a wake-up call by saying that God is always there to help us, but He’s not going to sit at our computers and type, nor will He physically send out the submissions. We have to do the work. Faith and work; work and faith.

The author of James also shares two examples of Old Testament people who DID something to show their faith: Abraham and Rahab. He calls it “that seamless unity of believing and doing” that truly counted with God. They both acted without knowing the consequences and took huge risks. Faith in action. Acting in faith.

What is God calling you to DO today to demonstrate your faith?  Do you just “hope things will happen,” as Aimie said? For too long I avoided faithful, consistent writing time. I had a myriad of good excuses.  I don’t know what the results will be now that I’m working at it, but that’s where faith comes in.  I’ve put my writing gloves on. How will you show your faith? What kind of gloves are you wearing?

One thought on ““Actions Speak Louder than Words”

Leave a Reply

