I was looking for some comforting passages today. Going into the fourth week after wrist reconstruction, I felt like there should be less pain, that I should have better movement, and I was getting frustrated! I tried to play a few notes on the piano with my bruised, grayish-green fingers, but only very slowly and painfully. Tears filled my eyes, not so much from the pain as from the realization that it would be awhile before I could play freely and without effort.  The food being served at my pity party was not tasting very good though, and I knew I had to leave and find less bitter fare.

After reading several other “fear not” references, I decided to settle in on the only verses in Joel that say, “Be not afraid.”  The fascinating part is that Joel is not addressing a person, nor is God addressing any man or nation. Verse 21: “Be not afraid, O land; be glad and rejoice. Surely the Lord has done great things.” Entitled “The Lord’s Answer,” this section bubbles over with what God has done and will do. Greening pastures, fruit-bearing trees, overflowing vats, grain in abundance, new oil and wine…all promises of renewal for the physical realm.  It reminded me that God cares about my physical needs too!

I had to pause and reflect on what God has done and promises to still do for me – a banquet of blessings is so much better than a pity party!  Really, what do I fear?  Healing is in His hands and will come in His perfect timing.  Meanwhile, the antidote to fear is to “be glad and rejoice.”  This won’t be the last time I’ll need a reminder, I’m sure.  In fact, I plan to revisit these verses tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

