Yes, it’s been awhile! A very long while. The past couple months I found myself becoming primarily a blog-reader rather than a blog-writer. It seemed much easier, but in retrospect, not as satisfying or fulfilling.  Now that we are mid-year, it seems like a good time to resolve, once again, the resolution made back in January.   A number of different fear hurdles, set up by the enemy, no doubt, kept me from making progress, and even now, I’m pecking out these letters with my left hand, wondering how much longer the pain will last, when I’ll be able to play the piano again, if my right hand will ever be “normal.”

So the words in 1 Chron. 28:20 are my inspiration this time. “David also said to Solomon his son, ‘Be strong and courageous, and do the work. Do not be afraid or discouraged, for the Lord God, my God, is with you. He will not fail you or forsake you until all the work for the service of the temple of the Lord is finished.'” There is work to be done yet.  God’s call to write hasn’t been silenced. In fact, since my hand surgery, I have had so much more time! Time to sit and think, to read, relax, watch the birds and the ever-changing clouds in the sky. The Lord God will not fail me or forsake me.

I’ve also been sorting through piles of paper, notes, newspaper clippings, lists, etc. and finding inspiration and ideas that had been buried in the busyness of normal, “healthy” living.  Here is a quote I found from Julia Cameron, “Writing is alchemy. Writing that poem, moving out of that cramped and cerebral space of bitterness or confusion into the capacious heart, I am no longer a victim, an enemy or an injured party. I am what I am again: a writer.   Writing is medicine. It is an appropriate antidote to injury. It is an appropriate companion for any difficult change. Writing about the change, we help it along, lean into it, cooperate. Writing allows us to rewrite our lives.”

Solomon was told to do the work of constructing a place where the Lord would dwell, and to be strong, fearless, and courageous, knowing that God was with him. And as I build sentences, paragraphs, essays and poems with words, my prayer is that God will be pleased to dwell here as well.

Leave a Reply

