The passage I addressed several days ago stayed with me and would not let me go. Since the last post I’ve had 6 opportunities to have coffee or lunch and to ‘heart-share’ with many friends, both old and new. What a gift! Because they were all women, I was reminded of our propensity to have more words than our male counterparts, which led me to the Amplified Bible version of the verse I’m revisiting today. The ‘extra’ words add depth and insight.

“It is the Lord Who goes before you; He will [march] with you; He will not fail you or let you go or forsake you; [let there be no cowardice or flinching, but] fear not, neither become broken [in spirit — depressed, dismayed, and unnerved with alarm].”

Picture God as the trailblazer, as well as the one who is marching by your side. He does both without failure, falling, or forsaking.  Instead of flinching, put one hand in front of you to grab on to Him and one hand beside you, tucked into His arm as He steadies you along the path.  It is not God’s wish for you to be broken in spirit, depressed, dismayed or unnerved.  If you have experienced any (or all of the above) emotions like these, let God take them, and instead of concentrating on the dark path, put your focus on Him.

Yesterday I played for a male chorus as they sang a beautiful rendition of “Give Me Jesus.”  The second verse says, “And when I am afraid……..(repeat several times)…. Give me Jesus!”  Simple words, but they sing in my soul.   This led me to one of my favorite verses, Zephaniah 3:17. “The Lord your God is with you; He is mighty to save. He will take great delight in you; He will quiet you with His love; He will rejoice over you with singing.”

May all who read this sense God’s great delight in you, feel quieted by His love, and know that He is singing with joy over you today.

One thought on “No fear, no flinching. Deuteronomy 31:8 (take 2)

Leave a Reply

