I noticed there were a few recent posts that were marked “draft,” so I just published them. One may be a repeat. Forgive me – I’m a newbie!  Usually I’m writing late at night, so I’m probably not entirely coherent.  I’m so relieved that I’m not getting graded on this project :).

Speaking of projects, in the verse I chose for today, Joshua is getting a HUGE assignment. Here it is: “Then Moses summoned Joshua and said to him in the presence of all Israel, ‘Be strong and courageous, for you must go with this people into the land that the Lord swore to their forefathers to give them, and you must divide it among them as their inheritance. The Lord himself goes before you and will be with you; he will never leave you nor forsake you. Do not be afraid; do not be discouraged.”  So Joshua is supposed to take these cantankerous people who’ve just wandered in the desert for most of their lifetime and divide the land (which they really don’t own yet) among them.  How is he supposed to do that?

Sometimes we complain or worry about not knowing what the future holds. Joshua was facing many unknowns here, too.  Moses’ instructions? Be strong, courageous (opposite of discouraged), and then act. I’ve heard the phrase “do it afraid” before, which means that you plow through the fear. Being afraid should not be an excuse to avoid action.  Moses said “you must go” and “you must divide” the land. There was a plan, even though the implementation, the details, the blueprints, were not completely laid out.  His conviction, however, was that God would go before him, would be with him, and would never leave nor forsake him.

A friend of mine said today, “I feel so lost.”  She’s in a difficult situation with hard decisions to make, decisions that will impact her future and that of her children.  Are there any clear answers? Not at this point.  But the next time I see her, I’ll remind her to continue being strong and to act on the things God does make clear in His word.  The only way to not be discouraged is to trust that God is going before and alongside and that He will never, ever leave.  Joshua followed and God showed him what to do, step by step.  He’ll do the same for you and me.

4 thoughts on ““The Lord Himself goes before you….” Deuteronomy 31:7-8

  1. “Trust & Obey there’s no other way” ~ reminds me of that childhood song.
    I liked the point that you made about being afraid is not an excuse to avoid action! I think God allows fear in order to grow our faith for that is exactly what faith is, being courageous in spite of our fear. The only one we should really fear is God.
    Thanx 4 the reminder!

    1. Prayed for you today, Alyce t, and look forward to seeing you soon. I’m glad for your confidence that “God is now here.” May you accept His light for your uncertain path as you take one step at a time.

Leave a Reply

