Before I type out the verse for today, I have a confession to make. I skipped yesterday’s post. Did I forget? No. It was rather late in the evening before I could get to it, but then I chose to wait. Something had happened earlier in the day that I needed to digest.  In the process of showing a student how to find my blog, I entered fearnot365 on his computer, expecting my site to show up. I couldn’t find it among the gazillion other sites that had a variation on the same theme. A flurry of negative thoughts began racing through my head, as if someone had just let the chickens out of their pen in our backyard. The squawking and cackling and scurrying annoyed me, so I tried to round up my thoughts, but here’s what kept sounding: What are you doing writing a blog on the 365 verses on fear in the Bible?  Looks like a lot of other people have done (or are doing) this, too, so who are you? You’re no expert. What new thing could you possibly have to say? If someone wants to read about this topic, they can go to one of these other (probably better) sites. Why bother? Looks like God told a bunch of other people to do the same thing, so don’t put so much effort into it.   Yikes!

Since my student was sitting right there, I couldn’t show my surprise or express what an impact that googled list made on me. But I felt attacked. The enemy was throwing barbs of discouragement, pride, uncertainty, fear, yes fear, at me. I decided to sleep on it rather than write about it.

When I opened emails this morning, one of the first was Rick Warren’s Daily Hope devotional. The title? Refuse to Listen to Your Fears!  After reading it, I began to breathe again and decided to put all those scratching, cackling noises back in the pen.  I haven’t checked out the other sites yet, but instead, I’ll dwell on this for now: “There is no difficulty, dilemma, defeat, or disaster in the life of a believer that God can’t ultimately get some good out of.”  So back to the task He’s called me to do.

Here are two verses for today.  Deuteronomy 20:1 & 3 ~ “When you go out to war against your enemies and see horses and chariots and an army greater than yours, do not be afraid of them, because the Lord your God, who brought you up out of Egypt, will be with you…..’Hear, o Israel, today you are going into battle against your enemies. Do not be fainthearted or afraid; do not be terrified or give way to panic before them.”

Fainthearted, panicky, seeing something greater than myself? I felt that way just yesterday and because of something relatively minor!  My physical life is not in danger as it was for the Israelites, yet the enemy would like to take whatever he can – motivation, joy, determination, confidence – these are the things he would steal from me if I let him.  It’s “the battlefield of the mind” and the Lord my God will be with me, so I choose not to panic nor to be fainthearted.  Deut. 20:4 says, “For the Lord your God is the one who goes with you to fight for you against your enemies to give you victory!”  Thank you, Lord God, for victories!

2 thoughts on “Refuse to listen to fear Deut. 20:1 and 3

  1. Denise, I know I share with you the desire for understanding my own unique calling. The flip side of this is a longing to feel special, irreplaceable, unrepeatable. Sometimes this impulse is an ego striving, but I think sometimes it is also a sincere desire to uncover the spark of the divine within ourselves. I don’t care how many other sites exist with this same theme – yours is the only one that includes your signature voice of deep wisdom and humility. There is no other like you. The Sufi poet, Rumi, also wrote on this theme when he expressed these words, “The Mystery loves variety. We all have our own soul fruit to make – each is elaborately unique.”

    1. Katie, I’m so grateful for you and your affirming words. We’re both in the process of learning to grow “our own soul fruit.” Thank you for reminding me that our Creator God loves variety!

Leave a Reply

