About 1 1/2 years ago, I heard or read that the Bible contains 365 references to “Fear not” or “Be not afraid.” Then I discovered the popularity of daily or weekly theme blogs. A tiny, but persistent voice said, “Do this. Focus on one passage a day.” So I started – twice, and then failed to follow through both times. But over the past few months, I have not been able to escape the multitude of references regarding the topic of fear. In books, devotionals, conversations, emails, the message was everywhere! Write about all of those Scripture passages where God says, “Fear not!” It’s a challenge, a calling, I can’t ignore any longer. The struggle to sit down and do it has forced me to analyze why I fear writing about fear in a blog. I have much to overcome… and to learn. Today I read Ann Voskamp’s blog dated 4/29/09. It pushed me into this strange blogging territory with these words: “It’s impossible to please God unless I do things I’m afraid of….Fear offers two routes. Flee or faith. High tail it…or trust.” I’m not running away this time. Here on 1/1/2012, at 11:57 pm, I am committing to write about those profound and precious words that God wants to speak into my life and yours. If He truly gave us one for every day of the year, I plan to find, read, and share every verse that includes any form of “Fear not” or “Be not afraid.” Ready, set, hit publish!

2 thoughts on “Taking the leap!

  1. so glad you’re doing this! In “If You Want to Walk on Water You’ve Got to Get out of the Boat” by John Ortberg he mentions that Lloyd Ogilvie says there’s actually 366 references to Fear Not! Perfect for this Leap Year of blogging! love you and will be following faithfully!!

    1. Mari ~ thanks, dear friend! You are an inspiration! I’ll have to get that book out again. It feels good to finally be in the process of “getting out of the boat.”

Leave a Reply

